skip navigation

Six Enter Wrestling Hall of Fame

By Admin, 05/20/14, 10:00PM EDT


2014 class has many ties to NCUSA

The NC Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame held its annual induction cermony and Hall of Fame Banquet in Chapel Hill on Sunday. Six new members were inducted. The inductees this year included (L-R in photo)

Mike Jordan, Bobby Lloyd, Tim Sappenfield, Steve Atwood, Joel McCanna, and Ronnie Sigmon.

Many of this year's class had ties to NCUSA. Coach Lloyd was a tremendous Olympic style wrestler and has produced many champions through his "school of hard knocks" wrestling program.

Steve Atwood was a longtime supporter of NCUSA activities and events during his tenure at Mitchell HS and Tuscola HS, using off-season events to sharpen his wrestlers skills.

Ronnie Sigmon has served many roles, including Fargo National Team Head Coach, board member, and head official at the Jr. High State Championships for several years.

NCUSA was a proud sponsor of this year's banquet, and is grateful to the Hall of Fame Committee for their strong support at preserving the history and legacy of excllence of North Carolina Wrestling. This year's banquet was the largest in the history of North Carolina, drawing over 300 attendees.