skip navigation

Snow, New Headline Award Winners

By Admin, 09/22/23, 9:30PM EDT


Top Athletes, Coaches, and Officials Honored At Annual Meeting

A world champion and Team NC's lone Fargo All-American were among the athletes, coaches, and officials recognized at the recent Team NC annual meeting.

Headling the group was Kennedie Snow of Havelock HS. Snow was recognized as the SE Regional Outstanding wrestler earlier this spring, and capped off an outstanding season by becoming only the 2nd woman in USA Wrestling history to earn a gold medal at the U17 Women's World Beach Wrestling Championships (the other was Amit Elor in 2019). She also helped lead Team USA to its 1st ever team placement (3rd) at the World Beach Championships.

Ethan Brownlee of South Johnston HS was the 16U male wrestler of the year. Brownlee was 4th in the NCHSAA State Championships, and was the 16U 120 lb State Champion in both freestyle and greco-roman,. He represented Team NC at both the 16U National Duals as well as in Fargo.

On the men's side, Savoy New of R.A.W. wrestling club and Cardinal Gibbons HS was Team NC's only Fargo All-American for 2023, earning an 8th place finish in the men's 182 freestyle competition. New will continue his wrestling career at Davidson this fall.

Teresa Canady of Lumberton HS was the jr. women's wrestler of the year. She was a state runner-up in the NCHSAA Women's Invitational, and also a State Freestyle champion, as well as a regional runner up in freestyle and greco-roman at SE Regionals.

Five wrestlers earned the coveted Triple Crown Award for 2023, winning folkstyle, freestyle, and greco-roman state championships. They were: TJ Markjohn, Gunnar Rammage, Greg Merriman, Leah Edwards, and Elaina Pollack.

Randall Baynard (Baynard Trained WC) was honored as the 2023 Team NC Coach of the Year. Baynard served as a head coach for the Jr. Men's dual team, and also coached numerous other teams including Team NC's pre-season nationals team, the Pan Am U17 Beach Wrestling team, and he was also recognized as the SE Regional Developmental Person of the Year.

For officials, Brandy Lindlsey was honored as the Team NC Mike Matlock official of the year, while Jayden Burleson (WCW WC) was honored as the Dave Pelsang Jr. Young Official of the Year.

The final recognition for the 2023 Frank E. Rader Person of the Year Award went to Jamie Bell of Lumberton HS. Bell has been a longtime coach and team leader for Team NC, and this year traveled with both the Jr. Dual Team trip to Oklahoma and Fargo. Bell's club has been one of the most successful clubs in eastern North Carolina, and his leadership was invaluable this summer.

Team NC is proud to recognize all of these outstanding wrestlers, coaches, and officials for their hard work and dedication throughout the 2023 season.