skip navigation

NC Top 50

The Top 50 Challenge Series is designed to test the skill and commitment of North Carolina Wrestlers. The series begins each year at the Elementary and Jr. High State Championships. Several "local" event are part of the series each spring (1 in Eastern NC, 1 in Western NC). The series rounds out with the Tar Heel State Classic and the State Freestyle & Greco-Roman Championships. BONUS POINTS can be earned by participation in the Powerade State Games, and/or the Beach Wrestling National Championships!

Points will be tabulated and updated throughout the spring. Winners will receive special recognition and a custom "Top 50" T-shirt at next year's Elementary & Jr High State Championships!!

Do you have what it takes to be among NC's BEST? Join the Top 50 Challenge this year!


2018 Top 50 Update (Pre-State Championship Edition)

Here is the update of the NC Top 50 Challenge,  NOT including this past weekend's State Freestyle & Greco Roman Championships!!

Big Changes will likely occure with the addition of State Freestyle & Greco-Roman Championships, as well as Beach Nationals.

The remaining event in the NC Top 50 series is the Powerade State Games set for June 25 in Greensboro, NC.

"I DID IT" T-Shirt

Are you ready for THE CHALLENGE? The Top 50 Challenge for 2017 features several new events and, back by popular demand, BONUS POINTS for participating in two special events!

Top 50 Award Winners join an elite group of wrestlers in North Carolina! You wll be recognized at the 2018 Elementary and Jr High State Championships, and will receive an "I DID IT" T-shirt that lists the Top 50 wrestlers on the back! PUT YOUR NAME ON THE SHIRT THIS YEAR!

2015 Top 50 Results

Congratulations to our 2015 Top 50 Award Winners! The full list is attached in the file below! Thanks to the over 2000 wrestlers who participated in at least one Top 50 event this season!

2014 Top 50 Results!!

Below are the 2014 Top 50 Challenge Series Results. The list below is THE TOP 50, but EVERY WRESTLER who participated is really a winner! We hope the competition and training that each wrestler participated in has improved your wrestling skills and motivated you to work even harder next year!

1.  Drew Sisk – Greenville Wrestling Club
2.  Gavin Bipes – Goon Squad
3.  Hunter Carpenter – Top Dawg
4.  Phifer Ozimek – Greenville Wrestling Club
5 - T.  Drew Mizell - Greenville Wrestling Club
          Marco Pangallo - Greenville Wrestling Club
7 – T.  Ethan Lenyszyn - Greenville Wrestling Club
           Dylan Millson – RS Central
9.  Will Carpenter – Top Dawg
10.  Cole Clark – Eastern Randolph Destroyers
11 – T.  Cannon Bridges – Top Dawg
       George Carpenter – Cardiac Kids
       Dalton Clark – Eastern Randloph Destroyers
       Drake Daughtry – Greenville Wrestling Club
       Carl Guess – Punisher
       Rayden Watson – Mooresville
17 – T.  Zant Parker – Ground Attack
       Zach Thomas – Greenville Wrestling Club
19.  Robbie Hallman – Top Dawg
20 – T.  Toney McGee – McDowell Titan Takedown
        Britt Weaver – Alleghany Wrestling Club
22.  Ryan Ashley – Rocky Mount Wrestling Club
23.  Burke Wilson – Freedom Wrestling Club
24.  Nathan Hull – Top Dawg
25 – T.  R. Hudson Price – Cardiac Kids
        Greg Purvine – DareDevils
27.  Michael Hughes – RoCo Wrestling
28 – T.  Aaron Bancroft – Rocky Mount Wrestling Club
       Joey Cannon – Cardiac Kids
       Jonathan Eggers – East Gaston
       Samuel Kincaid – RoCo Wrestling
       Ethan Shell – Dogtown Wrestling
       Wilson Smith – Rocky Mount Wrestling Club
       Jordan Wilson – East Gaston
35 – T.  James Joplin – Nighthawk Wrestling Club
       Ishman Martino – McDowell Titan Takedown
37 – T.  Christopher Jones – The CREW
       Mason Kincaid – RoCo Wrestling
       Garrett Ward – Freedom Wrestling
       Tony Woodward – William A. Hough Wrestling
40 – T.  Chandler Ebeling – Greenville Wrestling Club
       River Griffith – Dogtown Wrestling
       Nikolas Morris – Hardcore
       Will Paul – Cherokee
       Darren Williams – RoCo Wrestling
46.  Richard Treanor – Team Cabarrus
47 – T.  Kevion Chunn – RoCo Wrestling
       Tanner Ebeling – Greenville Wrestling Club
       Jax Forrest – Hurricanes
       Gabriel Kincaid – RoCo Wrestling
       Jackson Sisk – Greenville Wrestling Club
       Peyton Tipton – Goon Squad Greco Club